Learning Some Python Skills!

Hello, World! v1.1

Hello, World! v1.1

Inspired over the weekend, I updated my first program (hello.py) with an extra raw_input line so you could actually see the results before the program exited (a problem I noticed when used Nautilus to run it in the terminal, rather than running it in from already open terminal). Here’s hello.v1-1.py:

#!/usr/bin/env python

# hello.py v1.1
# (8 Aug 2010)
# My first program!

name = raw_input("What is your name? ")

print "Hello, " + name + "!"

raw_input("Press  to exit.")
Date Translator v1.0

Date Translator v1.0

You can also download hello.v1-1.py from my Dropbox. Not satisfied with a mere one-line revision, I tackled my next project: a program that could take numerical date input and convert it to a human-readable “January 1st, 2010” American date style. Here’s my first take on the idea, date.py:

#!/usr/bin/python

# date.py v1.0
# 8 Aug 2010
# My second program

# user instructions

print 'Convert your numerical dates to \"January 1st, 2010\" style.'

# month list

month_list = [
 'January',
 'February',
 'March',
 'April',
 'May',
 'June',
 'July',
 'August',
 'September',
 'October',
 'November',
 'December'
]

# sets suffixes for 31 days as 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th ... 20th, 21st, etc.

day_suffix = ['st','nd','rd'] + 17*['th'] \
 + ['st','nd','rd'] \
 + 7*['th'] + ['st']

# get user input

year = raw_input('Year (0-present): ')
month = raw_input('Month (1-12): ')
day = raw_input('Day (1-31): ')

# convert user input to integer

month_int = int(month)
day_int = int(day)

# format user input

month_name = month_list[month_int-1]
day_ordinal = day + day_suffix[day_int-1]

# print results onscreen

print 'Your date is: ' + month_name + ' ' + day_ordinal + ', ' + year

raw_input('Press <enter> to exit...')
Date Translator v1.1

Date Translator v1.1

You can also download date.py from my Dropbox. I wanted to take the book’s idea and run with it completely on my own, but the concept of lists in Python semi-baffled me, so I kept having to look at the book to actually get it done 😡 . Everything else made sense, but lists still baffled me, so I thought, Why not try to do something that’s not in the book? So I made date.v1-1.py:

#!/usr/bin/python

# date.py v1.0
# 8 Aug 2010
# My second program

# user instructions

print 'Convert MM/DD/YYYY dates to \"January 1st, 2010\" style.'

# month list

month_list = [
 'January',
 'February',
 'March',
 'April',
 'May',
 'June',
 'July',
 'August',
 'September',
 'October',
 'November',
 'December'
]

# sets suffixes for 31 days as 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th ... 20th, 21st, etc.

day_suffix = ['st','nd','rd'] + 17*['th'] \
 + ['st','nd','rd'] \
 + 7*['th'] + ['st']

# get user input

mmddyyyy = raw_input('Enter date in MM/DD/YYYY format: ')

# convert user input to integer

month_str = mmddyyyy[0:2]
day_str = mmddyyyy[3:5]
year_str = mmddyyyy[6:10]

# format user input

month_name = month_list[int(month_str)-1]
day_ordinal = day_str + day_suffix[int(day_str)-1]

# print results onscreen

print 'Your date is: ' + month_name + ' ' + day_ordinal + ', ' + year_str

raw_input('Press <enter> to exit...')

And yes, you can download date.v1-1.py from my Dropbox 😉 . It does the same thing as v.1-0 output-wise, but v.1-1 asks the user for a MM/DD/YYYY formatted date to convert. I wanted to make it pick the numerical elements only, then format those numbers (would it be more elegant to strip the “/” elements first, because I’m not sure how to do that just yet — maybe convert the whole raw_input string to an integer?), but honestly, lists are even more baffling to me now.

I thought I had it down — I figured that I should choose two numbers as a range (not three) for the MM and DD fields, and four (not five) for the YYYY field. I was wrong, and I really have no idea why at this point.

I will investigate more later; I want to try out several ways to convert raw_input to Python-usable data, and perhaps give more than one result (American date style, European date style, Stardate style, whatever) at the same time, or have a menu structure… but for now I dream.

UPDATE: You know, I talked all about “the book” here, but I never told which book I was using! So, for all interested parties, I am using Magnus Lie Hetland’s Beginning Python: From Novice to Professional, which is a totally awesome resource so far. I found out that Apress made a second edition in 2008 which also covers Python 3, but as I’m starting with learning Python 2.6, I don’t think it’s a big deal. I would like to get that second edition sometime, though 😥 . My goal is to eventually go through several “Learning Python” type of books before I tackle larger projects, both to get more practice in, and also to learn Python from more than one viewpoint.

UPDATE #2: I also noticed that this WordPress template cuts off blockquoted <pre> code. I don’t know of any way to fix this, but the text is still there, and you can copy-paste it with no difficulty — you just can’t see anything past the margins. I found a much nicer way to post source code on WordPress.com.

UPDATE #3: Added screenshots.

2 thoughts on “Learning Some Python Skills!

  1. Shannon Wagner

    Good luck on your Python journey! I’m also just starting out with the language, coming from a C# background.

    I think it’s very helpful to read about a person’s initial experiences with a language, so I hope you’ll continue to post some updates as you go..

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Some More Python Exercises « Becoming A Glider

Leave a Reply

