Your Chance To Name Our Server!

As I said earlier, my workplace (Scripture Memory Fellowship) has needed a server for a while, and I finally got to order one. For the sake of controlling costs, I got one from components:

  • Supermicro X7SBL-LN1 motherboard powered by an Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz
  • Black Supermicro CSE-731i case (built like a tank, beautifully engineered)
  • Two Western Digital WD1002FAEX 1TB hard drives
  • 2GB RAM, CD/DVD writer, UPS, and various other goodies

We just got the bulk of our parts today (only 2 days? go Newegg!), and I’ll be putting our new server together on Monday.

I am really excited about this, since we’ve needed a file server since I first started working here, and my life will be greatly simplified now. However, I am at an imaginative loss, and can’t for the life of me think of any good ideas for a name — so what do you think a good name would be for our brand-spanking-new server? I’ll pick from the best of the crop, unless there’s a really terrible crop (in which case I’ll probably go to the Random Album Art flickr group and pick one of those). Also, unless anyone knows of a better distro for a SOHO/SMB file server, I’m planning to run CentOS 5.5 on it.

Comment away!

UPDATE: The PSU that was bundled with the case doesn’t have a 8-pin 12V connector (for the EPS12V motherboard), but just the standard 4-pin 12V connector. Just to be on the safe side, we’re ordering an ANTEC PSU with a EPS12V connector, so it’ll be another 2+ days before it’s up and running, so you still have a few days to suggest a name.

UPDATE #2: We received our new PSU in the mail today, so it’s naming time! Now I only got one response, but I really like the suggested name and it’s meaning (Irish Gaelic for “town center”), so An-Lar it is! Congratulations to evidex!

7 thoughts on “Your Chance To Name Our Server!

  1. Pingback: CentOS As A SOHO File Server (With A CF Hard Drive) « Becoming A Glider

  2. evidex

    That’ll make a nice server 🙂 My server is a 1.7Ghz Pentium IV, which has been working well for a year or so now.

    As for a name, I’m not great at choosing names either, my server is called An-Lar, which is Irish for “The-Center”, seemed to suit seeing as it’s the centre of my network.

    Seeing as it’s a file server, why not call it warehouse?

    Nice blog by the way. Remind me a bit of my own in places.
    http://linuxexpresso.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Strange Revelation… « Becoming A Glider

  4. Pingback: Rethinking Quality « Becoming A Glider

  5. Pingback: Still Working On Piggybacker « Becoming A Glider

Leave a Reply

